Bowing out

Sprained ankle chic

Sprained ankle chic

I’m so, so disappointed to be writing this, but I’m not going to be running Brighton Marathon this year.

My ankle isn’t getting any better, and with only 10 weeks to go I’ve had to acknowledge that I can’t get fit in time. Obviously I’m not doing the half marathon in a few weeks time either.

I feel really sad on both fronts. Training for the marathon has been a really big focus for me for the 9 months or so. I’ve put a lot of effort into it, and I feel cheated that this is what it’s amounted to.

I’m even disappointed about missing the half – I loved it last year and was so excited about running it again with a group of friends.

I miss running full stop.

The last few weeks have been pretty stressful for a number of reasons. Not being able to stick my trainers on and disappear up on the Downs or down on the seafront for an hour or two has been tough. It’s a good reminder of my overall running goal though – I want to be able to run for the rest of my life. This is one injury, only a few months out of years of running. It’s not the end of the world.

So I’m bracing my wallet, heading back to the physio and hoping I’ll have my trainers back on soon. I’ll sign up for Brighton Marathon 2016, and I’m looking at a few September/October marathons too.

One comment

Leave a Reply

