Me vs Balkan Streets III

Montenegro_238

This was my third trip to the Balkans, and every time I’ve been I’ve loved it, apart from one problem – the streets.
 
In the Old Towns/Stari Grads of Split, Dubrovnik, Mostar, Kotor, Budvar etc the beautiful stone streets have been worn down and polished to a mirror-like finish by hundreds of years of use. Which makes them flipping slippy, especially when they get wet. I’m stupidly clumsy, so this is a bad combination.
 
I’ll never forget my first trip to Croatia a few years ago – I stayed in Split, where the people are rightly proud of their gorgeous white stone streets. They used to be the floors of Diocletian’s palace, and they’re washed each night – I must have fallen over about ten times as I tried to make my way home (slightly the worse for wear) through the freshly washed, still wet streets on my first night there.
 
The real shame of it is that the women in Croatia, Bosnia and Montenegro manage to negotiate their slippery streets with ease in ridiculously high heels, looking impossibly beautiful, poised and glamorous, while I have to grab hold of walls to steady myself every tenth step.
 
Still I can now say that I’ve nearly broken my legs and smashed my face up in Split, Korcula, Dubrovnik, Mostar, Sarajevo, Kotor, Budvar and Perast…and I think that lends me a certain air of danger.

Leave a Reply

